Atlanta Metropolitan State College

Students

TRIO (The Federal TRiO Programs )

TRiO Programs at Atlanta Metropolitan State College address the unique academic and cutrioltural needs of individuals who are identified as TRiO eligible: low-income and/ or first generation college students. TRiO programs at Atlanta Metropolitan State College maintain a strong commitment to student access and academic excellence. Currently, Atlanta Metropolitan State College is home to several Federal TRiO programs including:

  • Student Support Services
  • Student Support Services - STEM
  • Talent Search
  • Upward Bound: Clayton
  • Upward Bound: Fulton
  • Upward Bound: Math, Science
  • Upward Bound: Thomaston
  • Upward Bound: West Clayton

All TRiO programs are competitive grants awarded to Atlanta Metropolitan State College and fully funded by the United States Department of Education.

TRiO Executive Director

Dr. Christopher Bennett
404-756-2737
cbennett@atlm.edu

Metro-Atlanta TRiO Programs
Upward Bound Clayton Upward Bound-Fulton Upward Bound - West Clayton

Yolanda Ward, Director
678-623-1264
yward@atlm.edu

Dr. Deborah Lee, Director
679-623-1193
dlee@atlm.edu

Kenneth Stallings, Director
678-623-1194
kstallings@atlm.edu

Tuyet Nguyen, Educational Specialist
678-623-1197
tnguyen@atlm.edu

Dwayne McClain
Educational Specialist
678-623-1185
dmcclain@atlm.edu

Bria Carr, Educational Specialist
678-623-1323
bcarr@atlm.edu

Shelia James, Office Manager
404-756-4059
mcgheehjames@atlm.edu

Student Support Services

Classic Student Support Services Student Support Services - STEM

Morgan Felder, Director
404-756-2741
mfelder@atlm.edu

Cassandra Smith, Director
678-623-1325
csmith@atlm.edu

Cameron Woodward, Counselor
678-623-1342
cwoodward@atlm.edu
David Clark, Counselor
678-623-1168
dclark@atlm.edu
Kierstin Gilliam, Administrative Assistant
404-756-2742
kgilliam@atlm.edu

Thomaston TRiO Programs

Educational Talent Search
Upward Bound
Upward Bound Math Science
Ruth Jean, Director
678-623-1190
rjean@atlm.edu
Sabrina King, Director
404-756-2731
sking@atlm.edu
Chad Walker, Director
cwalker@atlm.edu
Jakeia Glenn, Educational Specialist
678-623-1324
jglynn@atlm.edu
Leo Clark, Educational Specialist
678-632-1234
lclark@atlm.edu

Karlos Markland
Educational Specialist
kmarkland@atlm.edu

Jasmine Preston, Program Coordinator
404-756-4966
jprestonn@atlm.edu

Student Support Services/STEM
The Student Support Services programs are awarded to institutions of higher education to provide opportunities for academic development, assist students with basic college requirements, and to motivate students toward the successful completion of their postsecondary education. Student Support Services (SSS) projects also may provide grant aid to current SSS participants who are receiving Federal Pell Grants (# 84.063). The goal of SSS is to increase the college retention and graduation rates of its participants. For more information on the Student Support Services program please contact the office at 404-756-2742.

Talent Search
The Talent Search program identifies and assists individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds who have the potential to succeed in higher education. The program provides academic, career, and financial counseling to its participants and encourages them to graduate from high school and continue on to and complete their postsecondary education. The program publicizes the availability of financial aid and assist participants with the postsecondary application process. The goal of Talent Search is to increase the number of youth from disadvantaged backgrounds who complete high school and enroll in and complete their postsecondary education. For more information on the Talent Search program please contact the office at 404-756-4966.

Upward
Bound Upward Bound provides fundamental support to participants in their preparation for college entrance. The program provides opportunities for participants to succeed in their precollege performance and ultimately in their higher education pursuits. Upward Bound serves: high school students from low-income families; and high school students from families in which neither parent holds a bachelor's degree. The goal of Upward Bound is to increase the rate at which participant’s complete secondary education and enroll in and graduate from institutions of postsecondary education. For more information on the Upward Bound program please contact the office at 404-756-4059 (Clayton, Fulton, West Clayton) or 404-756-4966 (Thomaston).

Upward Bound Math and Science
The Upward Bound Math and Science program is designed to strengthen the math and science skills of participating students. The goal of the program is to help students recognize and develop their potential to excel in math and science and to encourage them to pursue postsecondary degrees in math and science, and ultimately careers in the math and science profession. For more information on the Upward Bound Math Science program please contact at 404-756-4966.

Project Target Schools Include:

  • Atlanta Metropolitan State College
  • Banneker High School
  • Creekside High School
  • Forest Park High School
  • Jonesboro High School
  • Langston Hughes High School
  • Morrow High School
  • Mt. Zion High School
  • Mundy’s Mill High School
  • Riverdale High School
  • Tri-Cities High School
  • West Lake High School
  • Upson-Lee High School